About

HEWA

Our history

From merchant to manufacturer

Hewa Leder was founded in 1984 in Northern Bavaria in a region that is renowned for its craftsmanship. The company originally specialised in the sale and distribution of upholstery leather, but we soon realised that only with our own leather and production methods could we provide the outstanding quality our customers expect. In 1994 we moved to the site in Rehau in Upper Franconia where we set up our own tannery in Brand-Erbisdorf just outside Freiberg, where we produce leather for premium and luxury cars, designer furniture and yachts. In July 2016 the Coindu Group, specialists in seat covers, acquired a 51% share in Hewa Leder GmbH.

HEWA

Tradition

800 years of tanning tradition

Leather has been used by humans for millennia and, when talking to a tanner, you will quickly realise that sustainability is an essential component of leather production. That’s also why we manufacture our goods in Brand-Erbisdorf, Freiberg; the city has a tradition of tanning that stretches back over 800 years, and the professionals working here have ancestors who were already experts in their craft.

HEWA

Awareness

Nature as standard

Our work is part of a natural cycle, and we manufacture leather in a quality that is unparalleled in the world from a natural product. We use untreated surface water which is extracted from the nearby Erzgebirge (the Ore Mountains), and an artificial ditch which was dug over 400 years ago flows directly into our factory. We work in the centre of Germany with people who understand and love their craft.

HEWA

Our product

Sheer natural products

The outstanding quality and short supply chain means that we generally use skins from South German cattle. Our 170 employees process up to 20,000 square metres of leather a week, and our policy is to process the leather only to the extent necessary. That’s why in addition to traditional methods, we also use the innovative olive leaf tanning procedure: similar to leather, olive leaves are a natural product left over from food production.

    Numbers & facts

  • Family business since 1984
  • 4000 cattle hides weekly
  • 170 employees
  • over 2000 shades and variants

Sectors

HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA

Cars

From production into unique pieces

Our expertise is perhaps best demonstrated in the automotive industry where sophisticated leather upholstery makes a vehicle from the production line into a unique artefact. The highest standards are applied to our colour palette, brilliance and non-fade properties so they can work harmoniously with the inherent properties of the natural product such as breathability and feel. The results are particularly striking in the visionary BMW I-series, the BMW M models and, last but not least, in the entire Rolls Royce series.

HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA

Upholstery

Technology and nature

The company started out with equally fine and easy-care furniture leather. This is our roots and we remain as committed today when premium quality is demanded, including for King Furniture in Australia and office furniture from Dauphin and Züco. High-quality upholstery leather is what we promote when we enter new markets, because although you can make almost anything, we must achieve a perfect balance between technology and nature.

HEWA

Boats and ships

Sun, salt, sun cream

Sun, salt, sun cream – specific conditions must be considered on motor yachts. We offer no standard solutions here, but ask detailed questions on the respective needs of the client and work closely with specialised institutions to develop our own leather to enhance the individual mood and environment on Princess und Sunseeker yachts.

HEWA

Ideas

Open for unique ideas

We like to be inspired by and contribute to innovative and unique ideas, for two reasons: the more demanding the commission, the more interesting it is. And the people behind the ideas are often particularly inspiring individuals. This is how we came to work with the traditional motorcycle brand Horex and with restorers of vintage cars such as the Mercedes-Benz 500 K.

    Clients

Jobs

Contact

Hewa Locations logo head black logo head black

Hewa Leder GmbH

Draisendorfer Weg 8, 95111 Rehau
Tel.: 09283 858 0
Fax: 09283 858 20

info@hewa-leder.com
Route

Hewa Leder GmbH

An der Zugspitze 42, 09618 Brand-Erbisdorf
Tel.: 037322 867 0
Fax: 037322 867 20

info@hewa-leder.com
Route
Terms and conditions Imprint

Browser nicht unterstützt

Bitte downloaden Sie ein aktuelle Browser:
Browse happy

Diese Seite
verwendet Ton.

Über uns

HEWA

Unser Weg

Vom Händler zum Hersteller

Hewa Leder wurde 1984 in Nordbayern in einer Region gegründet, die für ihre Handwerkskunst bekannt ist. Ursprünglich auf den Vertrieb von Möbelleder spezialisiert, haben wir bald erkannt: Nur mit einer eigenen Produktion erhalten wir die herausragende Qualität, die unsere Kunden erwarten. 1994 kam zum Standort im fränkischen Rehau eine eigene Gerberei in Brand-Erbisdorf, Freiberg, hinzu. Hier produzieren wir Leder für Automobile der Ober- und Luxusklasse, für Designmöbel und Yachten. Im Juli 2016 übernahm die auf Sitzbezüge spezialisierte Coindu-Gruppe 51% der Hewa Leder GmbH.

HEWA

Tradition

800 Jahre Gerbertradition

Der Werkstoff Leder begleitet den Menschen seit Jahrtausenden. Wer mit einem Gerber spricht, merkt schnell: Nachhaltigkeit ist elementarer Bestandteil der Lederproduktion. Auch deshalb fertigen wir in Brand-Erbisdorf, Freiberg. Die Stadt blickt auf über 800 Jahre Gerbertradition zurück; hier arbeiten Fachleute, deren Vorfahren bereits die Besten ihres Handwerks waren.

HEWA

Selbstverständnis

Die Natur als Maßstab

Unsere Arbeit ist Teil eines natürlichen Kreislaufs. Aus einem Naturprodukt fertigen wir Leder in einer Qualität, die weltweit ihresgleichen sucht. Wir verwenden unbehandeltes Oberflächenwasser aus dem nahen Erzgebirge. Über einen 400 Jahre alten künstlich angelegten Graben fließt es direkt in unser Werk. Mitten in Deutschland arbeiten wir mit Menschen, die ihr Handwerk verstehen und lieben.

HEWA

Unser Produkt

Reines Naturprodukt

Wegen der besonderen Qualität und der kurzen Wege verwenden wir überwiegend Häute von süddeutschen Rindern. 170 Mitarbeiter verarbeiten wöchentlich bis zu 20.000 Quadratmeter. Unsere Maxime lautet, das Leder nur so viel wie unbedingt nötig zu bearbeiten. Deshalb nutzen wir neben den traditionellen Verfahren auch die innovative Olivenblattgerbung: Olivenblätter sind wie Leder ein reines Naturprodukt, das bei der Lebensmittelproduktion übrig bleibt.

    Zahlen & Fakten

  • Familienunternehmen seit 1984
  • 4000 Rinderhäute wöchentlich
  • 170 Beschäftigte
  • mehr als 2000 Farbtöne und Varianten

Branchen

HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA

Automobil

Von der Serie zum Unikat

Unser Können zeigt sich vielleicht am besten in der Automobilindustrie: Mit einer anspruchsvollen Lederausstattung wird ein Fahrzeug aus der Serienproduktion zum Unikat. Höchste Anforderungen an Farbvielfalt, Brillanz und Lichtechtheit konkurrieren hier besonders stark mit dem Anspruch, die Eigenschaften des Naturprodukts wie Atmungsaktivität und Haptik zu erhalten. Das Ergebnis sehen Sie unter anderem in der visionären I-Reihe von BMW, in den BMW M-Modellen und - last but not least - in allen Fahrzeugen von Rolls-Royce.

HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA HEWA

Möbel

Technik und Natur

Mit gleichermaßen feinem wie pflegeleichtem Möbelleder haben wir begonnen. Hier liegen unsere Wurzeln, hier engagieren wir uns auch heute noch gerne, wenn Premiumqualität gewünscht wird - unter anderem für King Furniture in Australien und Büromöbel von Dauphin und Züco. Hochwertiges Möbelleder haben wir auch im Blick, wenn wir neue Märkte erschließen: Denn machbar ist fast alles. Aber die Balance zwischen Technik und Natur muss stimmen.

HEWA

Schiffsbau

Sonne, Salz, Sonnencreme

Sonne, Salz, Sonnencreme - auf Motoryachten herrschen ganz besondere Bedingungen. Wir bieten auch hier keine Standardlösungen an, sondern fragen detailliert nach den jeweiligen Bedürfnissen. So entwickeln wir in Zusammenarbeit mit spezialisierten Instituten eigene Leder, die zur Atmosphäre auf den Yachten von Princess und Sunseeker maßgeblich beitragen.

HEWA

Ideen

Offen für Neues

Wir lassen uns gerne begeistern und unterstützen auch ungewöhnliche Ideen. Aus zwei Gründen: Je anspruchsvoller der Auftrag, desto interessanter ist er. Und die Menschen dahinter sind oft besonders inspirierende Persönlichkeiten. So kam es zur Zusammenarbeit mit der traditionsreichen Motorradmarke Horex oder auch mit Restauratoren von Oldtimern, unter anderem des Mercedes-Benz 500 K.

    Clients

Jobs

Kontakt

Hewa Locations logo head black logo head black

Hewa Leder GmbH

Draisendorfer Weg 8, 95111 Rehau
Tel.: 09283 858 0
Fax: 09283 858 20

info@hewa-leder.com
Anfahrt

Hewa Leder GmbH

An der Zugspitze 42, 09618 Brand-Erbisdorf
Tel.: 037322 867 0
Fax: 037322 867 20

info@hewa-leder.com
Anfahrt
AGB Impressum